Understanding what happens after two years can help you prepare, protect your rights, and avoid unexpected interruptions to your income. Whether you’ve already been receiving benefits or are just beginning a long term disability claim, knowing what insurers evaluate at this stage is essential.
Why the Two-Year Mark Matters
Most Canadian group and private disability insurance policies divide benefits into two phases. During the first two years, the policy typically assesses whether you’re unable to perform the duties of your own occupation. This means the insurer evaluates whether your medical condition prevents you from doing the specific job you held before becoming disabled.
After approximately 24 months, the definition of disability often changes. Instead of asking whether you can perform your previous job, the insurer asks whether you’re capable of performing any occupation that reasonably matches your education, training, experience, and skills.
This shift is one of the most common reasons benefits are terminated after two years.
Understanding the “Any Occupation” Test
The “any occupation” standard does not mean you must be incapable of performing every job imaginable. Instead, insurers consider whether there is another occupation you could reasonably perform while taking into account factors such as:
- Education
- Work history
- Professional certifications
- Transferable skills
- Physical limitations
- Cognitive limitations
- Expected earnings under the policy
For example, someone who worked in construction with severe back injuries may no longer be able to perform physically demanding work. However, the insurer might argue they can work in a supervisory, administrative, or customer service role.
Similarly, an office worker suffering from severe depression, chronic fatigue syndrome, or cognitive impairment may still struggle to meet the demands of another sedentary occupation despite being physically capable of sitting at a desk. Every case depends on the individual’s medical condition and functional limitations.
The Insurer Will Conduct Another Review
As you approach the two-year point, expect your insurance company to begin a detailed reassessment of your eligibility. The insurer may request:
- Updated medical records
- Reports from your family physician
- Specialist evaluations
- Functional capacity assessments
- Independent medical examinations
- Occupational or vocational assessments
- Information about current treatment
- Details regarding medications and side effects
Some insurers also review your daily activities to determine whether they are consistent with your reported limitations.
This review is often much more comprehensive than the initial approval process.
Medical Evidence Becomes Even More Important
At this stage, medical documentation carries significant weight. Your treating physicians should clearly explain:
- Your current diagnosis
- How your condition has progressed
- Your physical or psychological limitations
- Why you remain unable to work
- Whether further improvement is expected
- The impact your condition has on daily functioning
Medical reports should focus on functional restrictions rather than simply listing diagnoses. For example, saying a patient has chronic pain is less persuasive than explaining they cannot sit for more than 20 minutes, cannot lift certain weights, or cannot maintain consistent attendance at work. Detailed, objective medical evidence is often the strongest support for continuing benefits.
Vocational Assessments Can Affect Your Benefits
Insurance companies frequently hire vocational consultants to evaluate whether you could reasonably work in another occupation. These experts may review:
- Your education
- Previous employment
- Transferable skills
- Labour market opportunities
- Potential income
The insurer may identify jobs they believe fit your limitations. However, simply identifying a job title does not necessarily mean you can realistically perform it. Your medical restrictions, stamina, cognitive function, and ability to work consistently must all be considered. This is why medical and vocational evidence should work together to accurately reflect your circumstances.
Independent Medical Examinations
Many claimants are asked to attend an Independent Medical Examination (IME). Although these assessments are arranged by the insurance company, they are intended to provide another medical opinion regarding your condition and work capacity.
During the examination:
- Be honest about your symptoms.
- Avoid exaggerating or minimizing your limitations.
- Explain how your condition affects daily activities.
- Answer questions clearly and accurately.
The examining physician’s report may influence the insurer’s decision regarding ongoing benefits.
Can Your Benefits Be Stopped After Two Years?
Yes. Many claimants receive letters stating that their benefits will end because the insurer believes they no longer meet the “any occupation” definition of disability. Common reasons insurers give include:
- Medical improvement
- Insufficient medical evidence
- Ability to perform alternative employment
- Inconsistent medical records
- Surveillance findings
- Vocational assessment results
Receiving a termination letter does not automatically mean the insurer’s decision is correct. Many benefit terminations are successfully challenged after additional medical evidence is presented or legal action is taken.
What Should You Do if Your Benefits Are Terminated?
If your benefits are stopped, avoid assuming there is nothing you can do. Instead:
- Carefully review the insurer’s explanation.
- Continue following your treatment plan.
- Keep attending medical appointments.
- Obtain copies of your medical records.
- Speak with your treating physicians about your functional limitations.
- Consult an experienced disability lawyer as soon as possible.
There are legal deadlines that may affect your ability to challenge the insurer’s decision, so acting promptly is important.
Continuing Medical Treatment Matters
One mistake some claimants make is reducing or stopping treatment because they believe their condition has stabilized. Insurance companies often interpret gaps in treatment as evidence that a condition has improved.
Even if your symptoms remain unchanged, maintaining regular appointments demonstrates that your disability continues to require medical management. Your healthcare providers can also document any changes, setbacks, or ongoing limitations that support your continued eligibility for benefits.
How a Lawyer Can Help During the Two-Year Review
The transition from the “own occupation” standard to the “any occupation” standard is often the most challenging stage of a long term disability claim. An experienced disability lawyer understands how insurance companies assess claims and can identify weaknesses in the insurer’s reasoning.
Legal counsel can review your policy, gather stronger medical evidence, work with vocational experts when necessary, communicate directly with the insurer, and protect your rights if your benefits are reduced or terminated. Early legal guidance may also help strengthen your position before the insurer reaches its final decision.
Preparing Before the Two-Year Deadline
The best time to prepare for the two-year review is well before it arrives. Keep detailed records of your symptoms, continue receiving appropriate medical care, and ensure your healthcare providers document your functional limitations thoroughly.
If you know your policy’s definition of disability will soon change, begin gathering updated medical evidence early. Being proactive can make a significant difference in demonstrating that you continue to meet the policy requirements and deserve ongoing benefits.
For many Canadians, the two-year review is the most critical stage of a long term disability claim, but with thorough preparation and strong supporting evidence, it is possible to continue receiving the benefits you need.